Securely Delete Items from Trash on Mac OS X Yosemite
Edited by Grimm, priya, Eng
You're watching VisiHow. In this tutorial, we're going to show you how to securely erase items from the trash on your Mac when running OS X Yosemite.
- 1On the far right side, we've got the "Trash". When our "Trash" has items in it that need to be destroyed, we can simply delete them. However, they are only deleted from the hard drive. The record of the file is still there, and the files can generally be recovered with third party recovery software. If we want to securely delete these files so that no one else can easily access or recover them, then we need to add an extra layer to the deletion process.To start with, we're going to navigate down to the dock, so that we can show you the "Trash" can, and explain just a little bit about it.
- 6When we've checked the "Empty Trash securely" option, any thing that we delete will be overwritten once it is deleted. This is a very secure way of deleting files. If we need a third party service to overwrite deleted files more than once, then we need something that is beyond the scope of this tutorial. However, to make sure that other people, or someone we might sell our used system to can't easily access our files, this is a more than adequate solution.On the "Advanced" tab, we're going to go down to the fourth option, and click "Empty Trash securely".
- 9Thank you for using VisiHow. We do hope that you have a great day, and that you will leave us any comments or suggestions in the area below.This concludes our tutorial on how to set up your Mac to securely delete trash items when using Mac OS X Yosemite.
Video: Securely Delete Items from Trash on Mac OS X Yosemite
Categories : Macintosh
Recent edits by: priya, Grimm