Remove a File or Folder from Time Machine Backups in Mac OS X
Edited by Mohsin, Charmed, Eng
On Mac OS X, Time Machine is the simplest and most reliable way of saving data by creating a back-up on your Mac, but many times we don't want everything to be saved in the back end, or maybe one just no longer in need of a given directory to be preserved by external backups. In this situation, deleting or erasing such directory from the Time Machine can easily be done, in this Article we will show you How it is done
Steps to erase a directory or files from Time Machine
- 2Navigate to the Directory Location of File or Folders that you want to delete backups.
- 4This Action is permanent, once you have deleted your data from Time Machine, there is no way you can retrieve it back, because of this you must be very certain that you want to erase it or not, otherwise you might looking for some data that you would like to keep but you didn't. Another Option is to exclude the files or folders, preventing Time Machine to make their backup.The Process is the same whether you want to delete your data as par file or folder, be very careful while deleting entire folder as it may contain something you require for after use.
Categories : Apple
Recent edits by: Charmed, Mohsin