Turn OFF IOS / iPhone Read Receipts in iMessage

Edited by Anonymous

Some people may wonder, what exactly was Apple thinking when it added the read receipt option in iOS? The Read Receipt option may look cool and awesome at first, but in the long run, it may turn out to be nothing but a pain in the neck. Imagine yourself being super busy with some work. You receive a text, you read it and make a mental note of replying to it after you get free. But what happens at the other end? The sender "sees" that you have read the message, thanks to this suddenly not so cool feature, and assumes that you have ignored them. Or how about you don't want to talk to someone? You can't ignore them now because the sender now knows that you are there, you have your iPhone in your hand, you have read the message and you have deliberately chosen NOT to reply to this particular person.

Was this helpful? Yes | No | I need help

Sounds really annoying, right? Well, we figured out a way to turn this feature off to put an end to this misery once and for all.

  1. 1
    Turn off the Read Receipts:
    Thanks to the people at Apple, we can easily turn this feature on and off as per our convenience. For this, all you need to do is to follow these steps:
    1. Go to "Settings".
    2. Go to "Messages".
    3. Switch off the "Send Read Receipts" option.
    Was this step helpful? Yes | No | I need help

  2. 2
    Delivered/read difference.
    Once you have switched off this option, you'll get "Delivered" written under all your messages, then "Read". "Delivered" is somewhat different than the "Read" option. Delivered means that the message has been successfully sent to the other end. It doesn't provide any assurance if the receiver has read the message or not, unlike the read receipt option.
    Was this step helpful? Yes | No | I need help

  3. 3
    Turn OFF the "Delivered" option.
    At this point, you might be wondering if you can turn off this feature as well. Well, you can, but you may not want to. If you decide to turn off the "read receipt" as well as the "delivered" option, then this would mean that you have to disable the iMessage completely. This is possible, but it is recommended not to do it. The reason is, if you decide to disable iMessage, then basically you are switching to the normal, standard mode of texting. The standard mode of texting doesn't allow you to receive messages from the people that are using iPads, iPods or Macs. Therefore, we would suggest that there is no need to turn off the "Delivered" option.
    Was this step helpful? Yes | No | I need help

  4. 4
    Conclusion - The "Read Receipt" option can be fun at first, but later it can get on your nerves.
    There are a million reasons for not being able to answer a text right away, but the "read receipt" feature makes it difficult to perceive. There is always a chance of misunderstanding because the other person would always feel that their texts have been ignored by you and you don't have time to reply to them. And it's not always about the other person. Let's face it, even you would feel a little offended when you figure out that the other person has read your text but hasn't replied to you.
    Was this step helpful? Yes | No | I need help



Questions and Answers

What does the iMessage display if your message has been read?

In the case that the receiver of your message has his/her read receipt turned on. Then when they get your message and read it what is the indication that I will see next to my message bubble. Like "delivered" is there a tag below the message bubble? Also what constitutes a read? opening the iMessage and scrolling down so that the bubble is in the view area? Or is the preview a read?

Was this helpful? Yes | No | I need help

Your iMessage will show users that it has been read when they have actually opened the iMessage application. The message status changes from 'delivered' to 'read'.

However, this is dependent on whether the person has internet connectivity at the time they read the message. For example, if you send someone an iMessage text, and they disconnect from the internet, you will not know when they have read the text until they reconnect to the internet.

Was this helpful? Yes | No | I need help

The preview itself is not a read - only when you actively switch focus to the iMessage account.

Does the little bubble appear when I just read a text?

I know between iPhones that a little bubble appears when I am responding to the text. But does the little bubble appear when I am just reading the text?

VisiHow QnA. This section is not written yet. Want to join in? Click EDIT to write this answer.

What does it mean if a text goes from read to showing it was delivered?

After sending a text to someone who has the read option on it first showed that the message was read but then when I opened it, it went back to delivered instead of read. What does that mean?

VisiHow QnA. This section is not written yet. Want to join in? Click EDIT to write this answer.


VisiHow welcomes all comments. If you do not want to be anonymous, register or log in. It is free.

Featured Author
69 Articles Started
2,601 Article Edits
24,290 Points
Daniel is a featured author with VisiHow. Daniel has achieved the level of "Lieutenant" with 24,290 points. Daniel has started 69 articles and made 2,601 article edits. 17,578 people have read Daniel's article contributions.
Ask Daniel
Hi, my name is Daniel. I hope my article on "Turn OFF Read Receipts in the messages" was helpful. If you have a question please click the button below.

Article Info

Categories : IPhone

Share this Article:

Thanks to all authors for creating a page that has been read one time.


Thank Our Volunteer Authors.

Would you like to give back to the community by fixing a spelling mistake? Yes | No