Delete All Content on iPhone5

Edited by Timbuktu, Eng, Anonymous, Christine dela Cruz and 1 other

Sometimes we want to start over again or renew everything in our mobile. What we need to do is perform a reset or erase all the content of your mobile. You can delete all the content of your iPhone5. Below is an instruction on how you can do this.

Was this helpful? Yes | No | I need help

Ad

Instructions

  • Please note that when you perform this there is no undo. This will totally erase the contents, the media and data settings.
  1. 1
    From the main menu of your iPhone, touch 'Settings'
    I5set.png
    Advertisement
    Was this step helpful? Yes | No | I need help

  2. 2
    Then from Settings touch 'General'
    I5gen.png
    Advertisement
    Was this step helpful? Yes | No | I need help

  3. 3
    Scroll down and then touch 'Reset'
    I5reset.png
    Was this step helpful? Yes | No | I need help

  4. 4
    Then under Reset touch 'Erase All Content and Settings'
    I5erase.png
    Was this step helpful? Yes | No | I need help

  5. 5
    Then there will be a popup window touch 'Erase iPhone'
    I5erase1.png
    Was this step helpful? Yes | No | I need help

  6. 6
    Then it will ask you again if you are sure that you want to erase, to erase touch 'Erase iPhone' again.
    I5erase2.png
    Was this step helpful? Yes | No | I need help

  7. 7
    All your iPhone content will then be deleted.
    Was this step helpful? Yes | No | I need help

    Advertisement

Tips, Tricks, & Warnings

  • Make sure before you do this, you have backed up all of your files.
  • Do not allow a stranger to do the reset. There are also several cases where you go to a phone repair shop and the attendant supposedly resets your phone. However, what happens is that your files are actually retrieved through another system. Protect your privacy by insisting that you be in charge of your phone.
  • Before finally clicking on the reset button and deleting all files, do a double check if you have actually transferred your files over, especially those which you want to preserve.
  • Note that certain game settings will not be able to be retrieved if you decided to delete all content.

Questions and Answers

Is the process different for an iPhone 6 than for the iPhone 5?

I want to sell my iPhone 6 but want to make sure that all my personal data has been removed first. The article covers an iPhone5 but I have an iPhone6. I have tried: I haven't tried anything yet, I thought I'd ask if it's different first. I think it was caused by: It's a different model of phone than what the article was written about.

Was this helpful? Yes | No | I need help

VisiHow QnA. This section is not written yet. Want to join in? Click EDIT to write this answer.

Comments

VisiHow welcomes all comments. If you do not want to be anonymous, register or log in. It is free.




Timbuktu
Premier Author
109 Articles Started
584 Article Edits
13,465 Points
Timbuktu is a premier author with VisiHow. Timbuktu has achieved the level of "Gunnery Sergeant" with 13,465 points. Timbuktu has started 109 articles (including this one) and has also made 584 article edits. 1,675,000 people have read Timbuktu's article contributions.
Timbuktu's Message Board
Timbuktu: Hi, my name is Timbuktu.
Timbuktu: Can I help you with your problem about "Delete All Content on iPhone5"?
 

Article Info

Categories : IPhone

Recent edits by: Christine dela Cruz, Anonymous, Eng

Share this Article:

Thanks to all authors for creating a page that has been read 716 times.

Do you have a question not answered in this article?
Click here to ask one of the writers of this article
x

Thank Our Volunteer Authors.

Would you like to give back to the community by fixing a spelling mistake? Yes | No